Book - 1991
Rate this:
This book is based on the eight-part Channel 4 series, fronted by Dudley Moore and Sir Georg Solti, to be shown from January 1991. The book alternates between the families of instruments - strings, woodwind, brass and percussion - and periods of music - baroque, classical, romantic and contemporary. The central text focuses on the outstanding composers and their social, musical and historical context, with side passages on relevant musical forms and the size of the orchestra. Within each chapter another section focuses on the history and origins of individual instruments, their musical characteristics and the development of their role in the orchestra. The margin text covers virtuoso performers and musicians' own stories about their chosen instruments, including the comments and views of Moore and Solti.
Publisher: London : Chatto & Windus, in association with Channel Four Television Company Ltd, 1991.
ISBN: 9780701137397
Branch Call Number: 784 .209 You
Characteristics: 214 p. : ill.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

No similar edition of this title was found at APL.

Try searching for Orchestra! to see if APL owns related versions of the work.

To Top