After She's Gone

After She's Gone

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
10
Rate this:
In this explosive new thriller, #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jackson delves into the deep bond between two sisters and their shared dream that becomes a harrowing nightmare of madness, hatred and jealousy…



Cassie Kramer and her younger sister, Allie, learned the hazards of fame long ago. Together, they'd survived the horror of a crazed fan who nearly killed their mother, former Hollywood actress Jenna Hughes. Still, Cassie moved to L.A., urging Allie to follow. As a team, they'd take the town by storm. But Allie, finally free of small-town Oregon, and just that little bit more beautiful, also proved to be more talented--and driven. Where Cassie got bit parts, Allie rose to stardom. But now her body double has been shot on the set of her latest movie--and Allie is missing.



Police discover that the last call to Allie's phone came from Cassie, though she has no recollection of making it. Instead of looking like a concerned relative, Cassie is starting to look like a suspect--the jealous sister who finally grew sick of playing a supporting role. As the tabloids go into a frenzy, Cassie ends up on a Portland psych ward. Is she just imagining the sinister figure who comes to her bedside, whispering about Allie--a visitor of whom there is no record? Is someone trying to help--or drive her mad?



Convinced she's the only one who can find Allie, Cassie checks herself out of the hospital. But a sudden slew of macabre murders-- each victim masked with a likeness of a member of Cassie's family--makes Cassie fear for her safety and her sanity. The only way to end the nightmare is to find out what really happened to Allie. And with each discovery, Cassie realizes that no one can be trusted to keep her safe--least of all herself…



Outstanding Praise For The Novels Of
Lisa Jackson



Close To Home



"Jackson definitely knows how to jangle readers' nerves… Close to Home is perfect for readers of Joy Fielding or fans of Mary Higgins Clark." -- Booklist



Tell Me



"Absolutely tension filled…Jackson is on top of her game." -- Suspense Magazine



You Don't Want To Know




"Lisa Jackson shows yet again why she is one of the best at romantic suspense. A pure nail biter." --Harlan Coben, # 1 New York Times bestselling author



"Shiveringly good suspense! Lisa Jackson ratchets up the tension as one woman's desperate search for her missing son takes her to the very brink of losing her husband, her sanity, her very self. Each chapter will leave you wondering who to trust. The answer: You don't want to know..." --Lisa Gardner, New York Times bestselling author



Devious



"Terrifying...a creepy thriller sure to please Jackson's many fans." -- Publishers Weekly



Without Mercy



"Her latest whodunit hits all the marks, taking readers on a nail-biting roller-coaster ride." -- Library Journal



"A juicy creep-a-thon…builds to a surprising cliffhanger ending." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)



Malice



"Taut, twisty…Malice displays the skilled Jackson at her best yet." -- The Providence Journal
Publisher: New York : Kensington Books, 2016.
Edition: First Kensington hardcover edition.
ISBN: 9781617734656
1617734659
Branch Call Number: FIC Jacks
Characteristics: 394 pages
Alternative Title: After she is gone

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
chrisbee55
Apr 10, 2017

I have read most of this author's books but the last few ones have been a huge disappointment. Perhaps a ghost writer is writing it? This is not the style of writing that I am used to with this author. I skimmed most of this crap and it could easily have been condensed from 550 pages to 300. I would be reluctant to read any more of her books - I think that she has lost her spark or interesting story lines.

w
westcoasty
Nov 02, 2016

The book began with a great twist, but quickly degenerated into a group of unlikable characters with unrealistic motivations. I was very disappointed, as the first Lisa Jackson I ever read was innovative in character development and plot, and extremely well done.

h
hrussell123
May 06, 2016

I'm really disappointed with the last few novels Lisa Jackson has written she used to be one of my favorites, so much so I own all of her earlier books but it seems as though she's lost that spark that made her books really suspenseful with the right amount of everything else thrown in. I've found myself the last few books after finishing thinking.."that was kind of a dumb ending". I hope she gets her mojo back :(

e
Eil_1
May 03, 2016

Started off with a 'bang; however, it quickly continued with tedious descriptions, reminiscences about the sister's past - blah, blah. In my opinion, this is a 'chick' book. Struggled through to about page 100, and decided there were many better action books than this one.

a
aprilhansen1234
Apr 06, 2016

it was ok...very slow at the beginning

acbyac Apr 06, 2016

This book left me wondering why it had so many errors! Hopefully Lisa Jackson will write a better book next time!

b
barryandlinda
Mar 01, 2016

I had a hard time getting into this story. It seemed that it kept bouncing back from character to character and it was hard to figure out where everyone fit into the story. But by the time I got to the second half of the book, it started making sense. You still didn't know who was doing the killings. Then it was hard to put it down. The end was a surprise, but all in all it was a good read.

v
ViviaWal
Feb 27, 2016

I can take a slow plot, but this book had some distracting editing issues that bothered me. Everything from typos to shifting POV that made no sense. Add in several unlikable main characters and the nicest thing I can say is this is not Lisa Jackson's usual quality.

karcoldelharvic5 Feb 03, 2016

I liked this book. Built up well to a surprise ending.

n
nbalfour
Feb 02, 2016

Lisa Jackson has written better books than this. Found the story line dragged along.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top