Harlot's Ghost

Harlot's Ghost

A Novel

eBook - 2007
Average Rating:
Rate this:
With unprecedented scope and consummate skill, Norman Mailer unfolds a rich and riveting epic of an American spy. Harry Hubbard is the son and godson of CIA legends. His journey to learn the secrets of his society--and his own past--takes him through the Bay of Pigs, the Cuban Missile Crisis, and the "momentous catastrophe" of the Kennedy assassination. All the while, Hubbard is haunted by women who were loved by both his godfather and President Kennedy. Featuring a tapestry of unforgettable characters both real and imagined, Harlot's Ghost is a panoramic achievement in the tradition of Tolstoy, Melville, and Balzac, a triumph of Mailer's literary prowess. Praise for Harlot's Ghost "[Norman Mailer is] the right man to exalt the history of the CIA into something better than history."--Anthony Burgess, The Washington Post Book World "Elegantly written and filled with almost electric tension . . . When I...
Publisher: New York : Random House, 2007.
ISBN: 9781588365897

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Summary

FavouriteFiction Oct 14, 2009

Harry Hubbard joins the CIA in 1950's and this novel follows his career from Berlin to the Bay of Pigs and the Kennedy assassination.


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

APL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

To Top