Awkward

Awkward

The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:

In the vein of Quiet and The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth comes this illuminating look at what it means to be awkward--and how the same traits that make us socially anxious and cause embarrassing faux pas also provide the seeds for extraordinary success.

As humans, we all need to belong. While modern social life can make even the best of us feel gawky, for roughly one in five of us, navigating its challenges is consistently overwhelming--an ongoing maze without an exit. Often unable to grasp social cues or master the skills and grace necessary for smooth interaction, we feel out of sync with those around us. Though individuals may recognize their awkward disposition, they rarely understand why they are like this--which makes it hard for them to know how to adjust their behavior.

Psychologist and interpersonal relationship expert Ty Tashiro knows what it's like to be awkward. Growing up, he could do math in his head and memorize the earned run averages of every National League starting pitcher. But he couldn't pour liquids without spilling and habitually forgot to bring his glove to Little League games. In Awkward, he unpacks decades of research into human intelligence, neuroscience, personality, and sociology to help us better understand this widely shared trait. He explores its nature vs. nurture origins, considers how the awkward view the world, and delivers a welcome counterintuitive message: the same characteristics that make people socially clumsy can be harnessed to produce remarkable achievements.

Interweaving the latest research with personal tales and real world examples, Awkward offers reassurance and provides valuable insights into how we can embrace our personal quirks and unique talents to harness our awesome potential--and more comfortably navigate our complex world.

Publisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, [2017]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780062429155
0062429159
Branch Call Number: 155.2 Tas
Characteristics: xx, 261 pages : illustrations

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
jackiedelacruz
Nov 03, 2017

If you're looking for a self-help book I would not recommend this book. However, if you're looking to gain some understanding on how social interaction affects "awkward" individuals or are curious to learn about the differences between an introvert, shy, or awkward person this book would be useful. There is a lot scientific jargon, especially in the third part of the book. Although, I did enjoy reading about the author's personal experiences.

b
booksmile
Sep 24, 2017

Rather self-helpy...as in mostly based on one person's interpretation of people rather than a scientific consensus. He specifically creates a separate category of "awkward" people different from introverts or the socially anxious, so skip it if you are looking for more about those issues.
May be helpful for some people that have difficulty learning social norms and rules though?

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top