This Darkness Mine

This Darkness Mine

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
2
1
Rate this:

Mindy McGinnis, award-winning author of The Female of the Species and A Madness So Discreet, returns with a new dark and twisted psychological thriller--perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Fight Club.

Sasha Stone knows her place--first-chair clarinet, top of her class, and at the side of her Oxford-wearing boyfriend. She's worked her entire life to ensure her path to Oberlin Conservatory as a star musician is perfectly paved.

But suddenly there's a fork in the road in the shape of Isaac Harver. Her body shifts toward him when he walks by, and her skin misses his touch even though she's never known it. Why does he act like he knows her so well--too well--when she doesn't know him at all?

Sasha discovers that her by-the-book life began by ending the chapter of another: the twin sister she absorbed in the womb. But that doesn't explain the gaps of missing time in her practice schedule, or the memories she has of things she certainly never did with Isaac.

Armed with the knowledge that her heart might not be hers alone, Sasha must decide what she's willing to do--and who she's willing to hurt--to take it back.

Publisher: New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, [2017]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780062561596
0062561596
Branch Call Number: YA FIC McGin
Characteristics: 378 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

OPL_KrisC Feb 03, 2018

This book definitely kept me on the edge of my seat. Talk about being a psychological thriller! The main character is pretty messed up and puts way too much pressure on herself which causes her to crack. Mindy McGinnis does a good job in my opinion of making this book a real page-turner.

m
miraellie
Dec 22, 2017

I really appreciate and like how McGinnis writes really, truly unlikable girls, without apology. This Darkness Mine also makes the lead character basically unsympathetic as well, because Sasha is just not a good person. At all. And she's absolutely fine with that. At one point, she blackmailed her own father. This is the level of unlikable and unsympathetic we're dealing with, here.

She's also an unreliable narrator. Sasha seems to genuinely believe that the reason why she's acting out of character is due to absorbing her twin sister's heart in the womb. I suppose the fact that a lot of people seemed to take this plot element totally seriously and at face value speaks highly of McGinnis' ability to write an unreliable narrator who keeps spinning up ridiculous stories about why she's acting out.

I ended up liking Sasha in all her terribleness. She's basically a super-villain. Her world is lucky she only has her sights set on becoming a famous clarinet player and not ruler of the world, to be honest. If you can't handle a character who is deadset on being absolutely perfect, at all times, and will do what it takes to remain so, even at the cost of other people's lives or happiness, you might wanna skip this.

There are a few things I had issues with -- Sasha equating having sex with Isaac as being "bad" being the top one. If the distinction was made clearer that she considers cheating on her boyfriend bad and not just having sex, then this wouldn't have been a problem. The pace also began to drag in the middle and near the end, although I did enjoy the cardiac center setting and the characters there.

As long as you prepare to question literally everything Sasha tells you and for a storyline that goes a lot off the rails, you might enjoy This Darkness Mine.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

OPL_KrisC Apr 06, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top