Monster

Monster

Book - 2017
Rate this:

Acclaimed author Michael Grant delivers a stunning follow-up to the globally bestselling Gone series--perfect for fans of Stephen King's suspenseful writing.

It's been four years since a meteor hit Perdido Beach and everyone disappeared. Everyone, except the kids trapped in the FAYZ--an invisible dome that was created by an alien virus. Inside the FAYZ, animals began to mutate and teens developed dangerous powers. The terrifying new world was plagued with hunger, lies, and fear of the unknown.

Now the dome is gone and meteors are hitting earth with an even deadlier virus. Humans will mutate into monsters and the whole world will be exposed. As some teens begin to morph into heroes, they will find that others have become dangerously out of control...and that the world is on the brink of a monstrous battle between good and evil.

Praise for the Gone series:

"Exciting, high-tension stories. I love these books." --Stephen King

"Intense, marvelously plotted, paced, and characterized." --ALA Booklist (starred review)

Publisher: New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, [2017]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780062467843
0062467840
Branch Call Number: YA FIC Grant
Characteristics: 420 pages.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
claralex800
Jan 31, 2018

I didn't finish reading this. Two reasons. 1) I couldn't get over the smart, hardworking, strong kids from the original Gone books being replaced by selfish, egotistical brats (well, one selfish, egotistical brat; the other one just goes along with it). These kids are not the kids I would expect from any of Michael Grant's books, let alone the sequel to the Gone series. Maybe they get better later, but I couldn't stand them long enough to find out. 2) The adults are made so, so stupid. In Gone they were gone and the kids had to take care of themselves. Here it's like they're being made so useless that the kids will still have to take care of themselves even though they shouldn't. The part that really got me was the scientists being stupid. Astrophysicists or whoever it was who was tracking the meteor fragments know what surface tension is and know what impacting the water at a certain angle would do. They wouldn't be surprised by the meteor skipping across the ocean, they would have calculated that would happen. As a science student, I just can't.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top