Little Broken Things

Little Broken Things

A Novel

Paperback - 2017
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
"If you liked Big Little Lies , you'll want to crack open this new novel by Nicole Baart." -- Southern Living

"Steeped in menace, Baart's latest is a race-to-the-finish family drama." -- People

An engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany about an affluent suburban family whose carefully constructed facade starts to come apart with the unexpected arrival of an endangered young girl.

I have something for you. When Quinn Cruz receives that cryptic text message from her older sister Nora, she doesn't think much of it. They haven't seen each other in nearly a year and thanks to Nora's fierce aloofness, their relationship consists mostly of infrequent phone calls and an occasional email or text. But when a haunted Nora shows up at the lake near Quinn's house just hours later, a chain reaction is set into motion that will change both of their lives forever.

Nora's "something" is more shocking than Quinn could have ever imagined: a little girl, cowering, wide-eyed, and tight-lipped. Nora hands her over to Quinn with instructions to keep her safe, and not to utter a word about the child to anyone, especially not their buttoned-up mother who seems determined to pretend everything is perfect. But before Quinn can ask even one of the million questions swirling around her head, Nora disappears, and Quinn finds herself the unlikely caretaker of a girl introduced simply as Lucy.

While Quinn struggles to honor her sister's desperate request and care for the lost, scared Lucy, she fears that Nora may have gotten involved in something way over her head--something that will threaten them all. But Quinn's worries are nothing compared to the firestorm that Nora is facing. It's a matter of life and death, of family and freedom, and ultimately, about the lengths a woman will go to protect the ones she loves.
Publisher: New York : Atria Paperback, 2017.
Edition: First Atria Paperback edition.
ISBN: 9781501133602
1501133608
Branch Call Number: FIC Baart
Characteristics: 384 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

SCL_Tricia Jan 04, 2018

It was a good, slow build psychological thriller. If there were a word for a thriller with a little less thrill I would use that. I did like the family dynamics played into the novel. A soft thriller?

l
lizhulleman
Nov 28, 2017

grand maris book weekend author

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top