Thunder on the Mountain

Thunder on the Mountain

Book - 1999
Rate this:
Thunder on the Mountain, David Poyer revisits the terrible winter of 1936 when a strike to organize the workers in the Thunder Oil Company is called after a refinery disaster exposes the company's contempt for workers' safety. W. T. Kid Nitro Halvorsen, a young boxer and well shooter, becomes a leader of the strike against Daniel Thunner's beloved family company. The strike draws national attention, which increases with the arrival of ruthless strikebreaker Pearl Deatherage and of determined CIO organizer Doris Gurley Golden. As the unrest spreads in scale and fury, Halvorsen and Thunner must put their ideas of honor and morality to the test. In a high-stakes game of one-upsmanship and violence, who will prove himself king of the mountain?Packed with insight, vivid characters, and a burning concern for justice, Thunder on the Mountain is a tough, penetrating, violent novel in the tradition of Jack London, John Steinbeck, E. L. Doctorow, and Mary Lee Settle -- and, now, David Poyer.
Publisher: New York : Tom Doherty Associates, 1999.
Edition: 1st ed. --
ISBN: 9780812540048
0812540042
9780312864941
0312864949
Branch Call Number: FIC/Poyer 3588vb 1
FIC/Poyer 3588a4 1
Characteristics: 382 p.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top