Begins With the Oboe

Begins With the Oboe

A History of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra

Book - 2002
Rate this:

The Toronto Symphony Orchestra has been a part of the arts scene in Toronto for eighty years. Richard Warren, the orchestra's archivist since 1976, uncovers taped interviews and other documentation of the orchestra's musicians, visiting artists, music directors, and administrative personnel, to present an insider's view of the orchestra, and by doing so makes the history of this great cultural institution come alive.

In describing the challenges, achievements, and trials of the orchestra, Warren includes the stories of artists who performed with the orchestra and who then went on to become outstanding performers on the world stage, including Seiji Ozawa, Sir Andrew Davis, Jon Vickers, Lois Marshall, Maureen Forrester, Zara Nelsova, and Ben Heppner, among many others. He also recounts the orchestra's tours through China, the United States, Britain, Japan, Australia, and Europe, and their performances in the renowned theatres of London, New York, Sydney, Vienna, and Berlin. The symphony has become an icon of Canadian culture and enriched the lives of Torontonians and all Canadians as an important part of our heritage.

Publisher: Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c2002.
ISBN: 9780802035882
Branch Call Number: 784.2060713541 War
Characteristics: viii, 287 p. : ill. ; 29 cm.
Additional Contributors: Toronto Symphony Orchestra


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

No similar edition of this title was found at APL.

Try searching for Begins With the Oboe to see if APL owns related versions of the work.

To Top