Sync

Sync

The Emerging Science of Spontaneous Order

Book - 2003
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
At the heart of the universe is a steady, insistent beat, the sound of cycles in sync. Along the tidal rivers of Malaysia, thousands of fireflies congregate and flash in unison; the moon spins in perfect resonance with its orbit around the earth; our hearts depend on the synchronous firing of ten thousand pacemaker cells. While the forces that synchronize the flashing of fireflies may seem to have nothing to do with our heart cells, there is in fact a deep connection.

Synchrony is a science in its infancy, and Strogatz is a pioneer in this new frontier in which mathematicians and physicists attempt to pinpoint just how spontaneous order emerges from chaos. From underground caves in Texas where a French scientist spent six months alone tracking his sleep-wake cycle, to the home of a Dutch physicist who in 1665 discovered two of his pendulum clocks swinging in perfect time, this fascinating book spans disciplines, continents, and centuries. Engagingly written for readers of books such as Chaos and The Elegant Universe, Sync is a tour-de-force of nonfiction writing.
Publisher: New York : Hyperion, c2003.
Edition: 1st ed. --
ISBN: 9780786868445
0786868449
Branch Call Number: 003.7 Str
Characteristics: viii, 338 p. : ill.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
gketchum
Jun 09, 2010

Absolutely fascinating, and so well written anybody can read it. The chapters on sleep reveal the problems we have created for ourselves with artificial light.
But the best is the synchonomous fireflies. We live in a mysterious world.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at APL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top